burger
View all News
COVID-19 Information

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE EXTENDS MORATORIUM ON RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL EVICTIONS THROUGH AUGUST 20, 2020


On May 7th, 2020 Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that no residential or commercial tenants may be evicted for failure to pay rent until August 20th, 2020. The governor’s order extends the initial March 20th moratorium, previously set to expire on June 20th, by an additional sixty (60) days. In addition, newly imposed tenant protections include a ban on late penalties or fees for any missed rent payments during the term of the moratorium, and allowing tenants to use their security deposit for payment of rent, with the deposit to be repaid over time.

We hope that you stay safe and healthy throughout this crisis.  If you need assistance or have questions during this evolving crisis relating to any real estate issue, please do not hesitate to contact any of the attorneys in our Real Estate Department.

In light of governmental mandates, the offices of Kane Kessler, P.C. are working remotely at full capacity. Our attorneys are available at all times through email, phone, and videoconferencing to address any of your legal needs and answer any of your questions.

For additional information about any real estate issue, please feel free to contact: Darren S. Berger (at 212-519-5196, dberger@kanekessler.com), Ronald L. Nurnberg (at 212-519-5127, rnurnberg@kanekessler.com), Gary E. Ostroff (at 212-519-5112, gostroff@kanekessler.com), Ari M. Gamss (at 212-519-5135, agamss@kanekessler.com), Bruce M. Schloss (at 212-519-5197, bschloss@kanekessler.com), Cantesi L. Tiggs (at 212-519-5189, ctiggs@kanekessler.com), or Jesse Rabinowitz (at 212-519-5196, jrabinowitz@kanekessler.com), in our Real Estate Department.


This memo is provided for informational purposes only.  It is not intended as legal advice and readers should consult counsel to discuss how these matters relate to their individual circumstances

 

COVID-19 Resource Center
X